Walter-Dean-Myers-photo-for-Obituary2-191x300

Before my dear friend Carmen introduced me to Walter Dean Myers and thus one of my son’s favorite books, The Blues of Flats Brown, my husband told me that his English teacher colleagues had assigned Monster and the kids loved it. At the time, I didn’t know Myers was the author, but it all makes sense now. Myers crafted characters through language that sounded familiar to me and places where I’m sure I had been.

I was very excited when he was named U.S. National Ambassador of Young People’s Literature from 2012-2013. I wrote a little bit about my delight in a Models Monday post titled “The Seduction of Reading.” 

I’ll definitely miss what Myers would’ve written next, but he left an impressive body of works that I look forward to reading with my son.

 

